Overpaying your mortgage

Bernie Clifton

Ballon d'Or Winner
❺ 5 YEARS ❺
Credits
How much do you need to overpay by to make a difference? Mine is 630ish a month and I've rounded it up to 700 and pay that. Will it make a difference in getting it down quicker?

CCFC_27

Fuck the Jacks
❺ 5 YEARS ❺
❼ WHITTINGHAM ❼
Credits
How much do you need to overpay by to make a difference? Mine is 630ish a month and I've rounded it up to 700 and pay that. Will it make a difference in getting it down quicker?
I think it can do, depends how long the mortgage is set for and what interest you're paying, etc. Not that I'm an accountant, speak to one of them, it's probably worth the cost or people wouldn't use them

Mad Al

Dwarf Quiz Winner
❺ 5 YEARS ❺
🏁 50 PAGER 🏁
🍺 BEER CLUB 🍺
Credits
Paid ours off 6 years early, I chucked everything I had at it just to get rid and be debt free. Was worth the sacrifices made and would do it again if necessary.

TDA

The Fun Police
⭐ PLATINUM VIP ⭐
🏆 GOLD VIP 🏆
⚽ MODERATOR ⚽
🎲 GAMESMASTER 🎲
💰 JACKPOT! 💰
~LAST MAN STANDING~
❻ 6 YEARS ❻
🗐 200 PAGER 🗐
🏅 UNSUNG HERO 🏅
❼ WHITTINGHAM ❼
I ❤ NG
🍺 BEER CLUB 🍺
$ BANK $
Credits
It will make a difference whether the interest is calculated daily, monthly or annually. You also need to ensure that I overpayment is applied to the balance immediately not annually.

I think @Hillyboy61 is the one to aski.

Steve R

Ballon d'Or Winner
🏆 GOLD VIP 🏆
❻ 6 YEARS ❻
🗐 30 PAGER 🗐
❼ WHITTINGHAM ❼
I ❤ NG
WEED CLUB
🍺 BEER CLUB 🍺
Credits
Your Mortgage company should have an overpayment calculator online. Ours does. :thumbup:

Even an extra £20 a month will make a difference surely?

Hilly ap Willie

Ballon d'Or Winner
❺ 5 YEARS ❺
🗐 20 PAGER 🗐
Credits
It will make a difference whether the interest is calculated daily, monthly or annually. You also need to ensure that I overpayment is applied to the balance immediately not annually.